Waynflete Wins Maine Science Bowl

On March 7, two teams of Upper School students competed against 20 schools from around Maine—including neighbors Cape Elizabeth, Falmouth, and Yarmouth—in the Maine Regional Science Bowl Competition. The tournament is a round robin-style STEM trivia competition and is sponsored by the Department of Energy. Question categories include Earth and Space Science, Biology, Chemistry, Math, Physics, and Energy.  

Waynflete’s A Team, captained by senior science phenom Valerie Geldenhuys, was undefeated through seven rounds, moving the team into the finals. Valerie was supported by team members Andrew Johannen ’20, Selina He ’21, Levi Lilienthal ’21, and Henry Wagg ’22. The team defeated the Maine School of Science and Math (MSSM from Limestone) in the semi-final round and went on to defeat Falmouth in the finals to earn first place. The team won an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C., to represent Maine in the National Science Bowl competition from April 30–May 4.

The teams were coached by science teachers Carol Titterton and Wendy Curtis. Carol and Wendy recently received a letter from Senator Collins, congratulating them on their win. 

Team A
Valerie Geldenhuys ’20 (captain)
Andrew Johannen ’20
Selina He ’21
Levi Lilienthal ’21
Henry Wagg ’22

Team B
Haoming Ma ’20 (captain)
Kacy Corbett ’20
Jacob Curtis ’22
Deon Rivers ’22
Blythe Thompson ’22

207.774.5721 | 360 Spring Street, Portland, Maine | Directions | My Waynflete