Waynflete Varsity Sports Wrap-up Fall 2015

2015 was a great Fall season for the Waynflete teams.  We celebrated three Southern Maine Champions:  Boys and Girls Soccer and Girls Cross Country, and had many other strong team and individual performances.  The CMW Field Hockey Team became the first field hockey cooperative in Maine and the boys cross country team reached their goal of qualifying for the state meet.

Boys soccer under veteran coach Brandon Salway had a tremendous season.  The team captured the Western Maine Conference Division Championship, and won the Southern Maine Class C title with a 4-0 win over Monmouth.  In the state Championship game the Flyers took an undefeated Washington Academy team to overtime before falling 1-0.  Other highlights of the season included a 2-1 win over Class B state champion Yarmouth, and a 1-0 victory over Class A Kennebunk.  Making the Maine Soccer Coaches all-star team were senior captains Willy Burdick and Milo Belleau.  WMC First team honors went to Burdick Belleau, and seniors Ahmed Mohamed and Aaron Lee.  Second team WMC honors went to Jack Weston, Tom Silk, Abel Alemayo, and Cullen Bollinger.   Coaches awards went to Belleau, Burdick, and Mohamed.  The team has been recognized with a Team Ethics Silver Award from the NSCAA due to having been given minimal yellow cards during the season.  Coach Salway is the Maine recipient of the NSCAA Private School Soccer Coach of the Year, and is nominated for a New England Coach Of The Year recognition.

Girls soccer, under 7th year coach Todd Dominski, had a fantastic season capturing the Southern Maine Class C  title with a 3-2 overtime with over Monmouth.  In the state championship game the Flyers rallied from a 2-0 halftime deficit to tie the game late in regulations.  Orono scored in double overtime to capture the title but the girls should be proud of the game they played and the season.  Highlights of the season included a 2-1 win over Class B Lake Region, an overtime win over Class B Freeport and play-off wins over Boothbay 7-0 and St. Dom’s 5-0.  Senior captain Arianna giguere was named to the MSCA Regional all-star team.  Giguere, Ava Farrar ‘18 and Isabel Canning ‘17 were named to the WMC First team.  Arianna Giguere won the Jim Hopkins Award for Leadership and Dedication, and coaches awards went to center backs Canning and Senior captain Christian Rowe.  

Girls Cross Country celebrated the Southern Maine Class C  Championship on October 24th at Twinbrook Park.  A week later  the team mourned the loss of team member Payton Sullivan.  11th year coach Brian “Ziggy” Gillespie was joined this year by assistant coaches Jim Millard and Steve Withers.  In the Regional meet the Flyers were led by Abby Pipkin (6th), Ellie Chidsey (8th), Gail Johnson (10th), Sophia Mayone(18th) and Sullivan (30th).  Waynflete’s first through fifth runner “pack time” was under 40 seconds.  This pack running, along with three in the top ten, allowed the Flyers to finish 8 points ahead of rival Maine Coast Waldorf.  Waynflete again ran well in the state meet and finished third in Class C behind Orono and George Stevens.  At the Conference championship meet at St Joe’s College the Flyers placed third in Division 2.  Most Improved awards went to Payton Sullivan and Eloise King-Clements.  The Coaches Award was presented to senior Gail Johnson and the Most Valuable Award to sophomore Abby Pipkin.  Captains for the 2016 season will be Sophia Mayone and Ellie Chidsey.

The Boys Cross Country team had an excellent season and met the team’s goal of qualifying for the Class C State meet.  The boys placed seventh out of fourteen teams at the regionals earning them a spot in the state meet on October 31st.  At the state meet the team was led by Willson Moore (12th), John Veroneau (38th), PD Silk, John Van Dyke and Andrew Clark.  The Most Improved Runner was awarded to Van Dyke, the Coaches Award to Bryce Brittingham and the Most Valuable award to Willson Moore. The boys team will return all seven of its state meet runners on next year’s team.  Team captains for 2016 are Willson Moore and PD Silk.

The Waynflete field hockey team joined forces this year with the Catherine McAuley team and became the first field hockey co-op in the state of Maine.  The CMW “Flying Lions” played a 14 game Western Maine Conference Schedule and also played several JV games.  The 23 member team had only one senior, so first year coach Stacey Sevelowitz hopes to build on this year’s experience and be even more competitive in the 2016 campaign.  The Flying Lions had a number of close games and were able to earn a 1-0 overtime win on the road at Wells.  The final varsity record was 1-13 and the JV squad earned some great wins on the season.  Goalie Kiera MacWhinnie ‘17 was named to the WMC first Team and attacker Semhar Yehdego ’17  was named to the Second Team.  Caroline Routh ‘19 was awarded the Rookie of the Year, Gabrielle Begos (CM ‘18) was awarded the Coaches Award and Kiera MacWhinnie was named the Most Valuable Player.

The Golf team, under 10th year coach David Neilan and 1st year assistant Drew Dubuque, was only made up of four match golfers:  seniors Will Lewis and Chris Bergeron and freshmen Liam Feeney and Matthew Beard.    Although the Flyers were down 2-0 before each match began ( 6 golfers score in high school golf) they were very competitive in most matches.  The final record was 2-5-1.  In the WMC championship and state qualifier, Lewis shot and 89 which qualified him for the state match and also was the best Class C score of the day.  The coaches award was presented to Bergeron and the Most valuable award to Lewis.  With half of the golf team graduating this June coaches Neilan and Dubuque are looking to recruit!

Here is a link to the Fall Varsity Sports slideshow created by Sophia Mayone for the Athletic Recognition Evening.

207.774.5721 | 360 Spring Street, Portland, Maine | Directions | My Waynflete