Waynflete announces 2023 Athletic Hall of Fame class

Waynflete is pleased to announce our Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2023. The Hall of Fame selection committee has chosen three individuals and a team to receive this special honor: Drew Dubuque, Ed Flowerdew ’94, Lisa Lightbody ’98, and the 1993 boys varsity soccer team.

Waynflete’s Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 2022 to recognize those athletes, coaches, administrators, supporters, and teams who excelled in their respective sports or coaching/support roles and who brought honor and excellence to the school.

1993 Boys Varsity Soccer Team
The 1993 boys varsity soccer team is the first team inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame. The team was undefeated in the regular season (12–0) and went on to win Waynflete’s first ever MPA Class D soccer state championship. The team comprised coaches Brandon Salway and Ted Shipley, and players Justin Amoroso ’94, Greg Bokinsky ’96, Luke Brannigan ’95, Matt Famolare ’95, Ed Flowerdew ’94, Nate Gray ’97, Justin Huston ’94, Saer Huston ’97, Gabe Johnson ’95, David Joyce ’96, Brian Langis ’97, Joel Mahoney ’95, Shafaat Qazi ’95, Clay Rockefeller ’97, Tom Sanborn ’96, Matt Shardlow ’95, Leigh Smith ’96, Colin Sullivan-Stevens ’95, Ben Twitchell ’95, Tim Wannemacher ’95, David Whelan ’96, and Aaron Willis ’95.

Drew Dubuque
Drew served as both faculty member and athletic director during his time at Waynflete. He led the girls varsity soccer team to five regional championships and four state Class D championships and was named United Soccer Coaches 2002 New England Coach of the Year. Under Drew’s leadership, the girls soccer program had a 50–1 winning streak from 1995–98. Drew coached approximately 100 Middle and Upper School basketball, soccer, and lacrosse teams over the course of his 34-year coaching career, including more than 1,000 players. As varsity soccer coach, he amassed 151 wins over 13 seasons. Drew invites former players and their families to reach out to him here

Ed Flowerdew ’94
Ed Flowerdew ’94 was captain of the state championship-winning soccer team in his senior year and was selected for the all-state soccer team. He was captain of the 1994 regional championship-winning baseball team and was selected for all-state baseball in 1993 and 1994. He served as captain of the ski team and was an MPA state runner-up for golf. Ed went on to have an impressive Division 1 golf career at the University of Maryland.

Lisa Lightbody ’98
Lisa Lightbody ’98 played varsity soccer, basketball, and lacrosse for all four years in Upper School. She was a member of Waynflete’s first-ever girls state soccer championship-winning team in 1995, which won additional championships in 1996 and 1997 (she served as team captain in 1997). She was captain of the 1998 basketball team, was selected for all-conference in the same year, and was the first Waynflete girl to score more than 1,000 points. Lisa was a member of the 1997 and 1998 championship-winning lacrosse team and was team captain in 1998. She was Maine Sunday Telegram’s Lacrosse Player of the Year in 1998. In her senior year, Lisa won Waynflete’s Sportsmanship and Most Valuable Player Awards.

207.774.5721 | 360 Spring Street, Portland, Maine | Directions | My Waynflete