Spring 2017 Varsity Sports Wrap-up
Spring 2017 Varsity Sports Wrap-up

The 2017 spring season provided lots of excitement on the track, water, court, and fields. Waynflete teams gave fans much to cheer about including two team state championships, an individual state champion, and an MYRA (Maine Youth Rowing Association) championship.

The boys tennis team captured its tenth consecutive Class C state championship with coach Jeff Madore. This run ties the Falmouth girls for the most consecutive tennis championships in state history. The boys team completed the regular season 11-1, losing only to Class A state champion Falmouth. They dispatched St Dom's in the quarters and Wiscasset in the semis before beating Boothbay in the South final. At the state final at Colby, the Flyers met a familiar George Stevens Academy team and came away with a 5-0 victory. Captains Brandon Ameglio '17 and Jacob Greene '18, along with sophomore Thorne Kieffer, were selected to the WMC first team. Doubles player Shuhao Liu was selected to All Conference in doubles and Nicholas Wagg was chosen as WMC doubles Honorable Mention. Brandon Ameglio advanced to the semifinals of the state singles tournament. The team won the MPA Good Sportsmanship award which was voted on by their opponents.

Under veteran coach Linda Cohen, the girls tennis team won the Class C state championship for the fifth time in seven years. Captain Lexi Epstein '17 was named first team All Conference. The girls beat Madison in the quarters and then dispatched Carrabec in the semis before toppling defending state champion St. Dom's 4-1 in the finals. In the state championship, the Flyers defeated George Stevens Academy 5-0.

The girls lacrosse team had a young but spirited squad and finished 7-5 in the highly-competitive WMC. Home wins over top-ranked Falmouth and a tough Lake Region squad were highlights of the season. The #5-ranked Flyers qualified for the tournament and gave #4-ranked Cape Elizabeth all they could handle before falling 10-6. Senior captain Isabel Canning was selected to the WMC first team and fellow captain Ali Pope was chose as all-conference Honorable Mention. The team also won the Class B south Sportsmanship award. The banner will be awarded to them at the Class B girls state game on Saturday, June 17 at Fitzpatrick stadium.

Boys lacrosse finished the season with a record of 3-9. Although the Flyers did not qualify for the tournament, Head Coach Dan Thomsen and Assistant Coach Parker Repko have lots to look forward to. The team had no seniors and will return 23 players from this year's squad. The program will be bolstered with several new players next year and will compete for a post-season berth in the newly formed Class C. The 2017 squad lost two games by a single goal and won the final game against St Dom's 16-10. Junior captain Hank Duvall and sophomore midfielder Miles Lipton were chosen to the WMC second team. Junior captain John Veroneau was named WMC Honorable Mention on defense.

The baseball team finished the season with a record of 0-12. Five seniors were honored on senior day for their contributions to Waynflete baseball: Tim Clifford, Tyler Cutrone, Josh Lodish, Willson Moore, and PD Silk. Junior catcher Nick Hagler earned the team MVP award and Tyler Cutrone was awarded the Coaches Award. Junior Max Winson was named to the WMC first team at third base. Junior catcher Nick Hagler was awarded the team MVP award and Senior pitcher Tyler Cutrone received the Coaches Award.

Waynflete's crew had a very successful 2017 spring season. From dry land training in Sills Hall to the Ergatta at Berwick Academy (13 out of 18 medals), all the way to a decisive victory at the Maine Youth Rowing Association (MYRA) championship regatta, our 58-person squad took full advantage of our new, full-time water launch site and rose to new heights.

Eight track athletes joined the Cheverus team this spring for training and regular season meets. This new opportunity proved to be a good one for the Flyer runners as several went on to excel in post-season competition. At the WMC championship meet at Lake Region, Abby Pikin '18 won the 800m with a time of 2:24 and also won the 1600m with a time of 5:26. Fellow junior Leeza Kopaeva came in ninth in the 800m with a personal record of 2:43. Sophomore Henry Spritz ran a 2:07 in the 800m and a 4:42 in the 1600m which was good for sixth. At the Class C state championship meet at Foxcroft, Pipkin won the 800m with a time of 2:21 and came in second in the 1600.