Klingenstein Award

Waynflete’s Board of Trustees established the Klingenstein Award in Spring of 2019. It is an award rooted in our mission, which calls for responsible and caring participation in the world. Through the Klingenstein Award, we seek to recognize one Waynflete alumnus/alumna per year whose responsible and caring participation in the world–at the local, national, or international level—has had broad and positive ramifications. The award is named for its first recipient, Patricia Davis Klingenstein ’47, in recognition of her work as an education advocate, devoted community leader, volunteer and philanthropist. Read more about Pat and her life’s work.

The award recipient is celebrated in May.

Klingenstein Award Committee: 
Madeleine Corson ’55
Louis Frumer ’14
Heather Courtice Hart ’88
Michaela Goldfine ’90
Hilary Huber Holm’82
Cinda Joyce
Jim Millard
Joseph Nowak ’07
Mary Jane Pagenstecher
Christopher Smith
Geoff Wagg
Staff: Juanita Nichols, Kelsey Robinov


2020 Award Recipient

Charlie Miller, Class of 1965 is the 2020 recipient of the Klingenstein Award. From the founding of schools in Vietnam and an orphanage in Ethiopia to a school in Haiti and long-term rural development in Honduras, Charlie’s work has transformed communities and individual lives. Closer to home, Charlie sits on several nonprofit boards, tutors at the Telling Room, and created the Metamorphosis Award that recognizes young people who have dedicated their lives to serving even younger people, typically those at risk. In a letter nominating Charlie for the award, a member of the Waynflete community stated, “I cannot imagine a person who better embodies Waynflete's ideals or who has done more to help others.” Read more about Charlie and his work.