Waynflete School 360 Spring Street Portland, Maine 04102 207.774.5721

Waynflete School Awards 2005

Each year, at the closing Upper School assembly, members of the Senior class are recognized for their artistic, academic, and athletic achievements, and both Seniors and Juniors are recognized for community service work.

At this year's assembly, the following awards were presented:

Irvil K. Pease Award (to the student who best exemplifies the spirit of Waynflete) — Reid McMullan

Scholastic Achievement Awards:
Writing (Dow Cup) — Annie Reiner
Literary Scholarship (Barbara Freeman Award) — Grace Collord
History (Josephine Detmer Award) — Rachel Boyd
Visual Arts (Heather Brown Award) — Dana Glass, Abby Strauss-Malcolm
Performing Arts Award — David Bass-Clark
Linguistic Excellence Award — Kathryn Andrews, Rachel Boyd
Literary/Cultural Appreciation — Kai Thaler
Math (Margaret Chenery Award) — Grace Collord, Matt Lacasse
Science (Vergn Hughes Award) — Grace Collord, Maddie Jones

The following students were inducted into the Cum Laude Society:
Seniors: Grace Collord, Amelia Cutler, Sarah Fried. Anina Hewey, Nick Miller, Annie Reiner, Destry Sibley, Kai Thaler. Seniors inducted in their junior year: Kathryn Andrews, Rachel Boyd, Annie Brett, Maddie Jones
Juniors elected this year: Peter Devine, Ali Gips, Rachel Goldman

Community Service Awards
Seniors: Amelia Cutler, Molly Delong, Virginia Drake, Katie Kampf, Nick Kaufmann, Sigrid Knoth, Nick Mazuroski, Will Yerxa
Seniors who received Community Service Awards in 2004: Kathryn Andrews, Kira Armajani, Sam Beal, Linden Ellis, Sarah Fried, Megan Gentile, Winnie Kassa, Matt Lacasse, Shelby Leighton, Kate McIlhenny, Reid McMullan, Sophia Morgenstern, Hannah O’Neil, Noah Oppenheim, Annie Reiner, Leah Rosenthal, Maggie Stein, Destry Sibley, Molly Sosnaud, Rikka Wommack
Juniors: Hamdi Ali, Chloe Beaven, Dan Black, Colleen Connell, Betsy Critchfield, Luke Cummisky, Peter Devine, Laura Fralich, Rachel Goldman, Stephanie Hancock, Lily Hoffman, Spencer Libby, Spencer Montgomery, Ezra Moser, Hannah Perry, Caroline Schnell, Jack Smith, Karla Stockmeyer, Eliza Timpson, Jonathan Wolinsky

Sportsmanship Awards
Virginia Drake, Jeremy Judge

Most Valuable Player Awards
Linden Ellis, Matt Lacasse, and Reid McMullan


independent education from early childhood through grade 12